Project 3 Reflection

I do not believe that encryption in itself is a fundamental right, that is to say, a right of utmost importance which requires the highest degree of protection. However, I do believe that the right to personal privacy is fundamental. This belief is also shared by the United States government and many other governing bodies throughout the world. Since the primary purpose of encryption is to protect personal privacy, the government should be obligated to respect its use in technology and also recognize that in regulating encryption, they are infringing upon an individual’s fundamental right to privacy. Personally, I am not completely convinced that U.S. citizens should have the ability to completely lock out the government. I would be concerned that dangerous criminals could possibly walk free because of the complete privacy provided by encryption. On the other hand, the actual ability of encryption offering perfect privacy is questionable. As of yet, there does not exist a perfect, impenetrable encryption. Whenever a better encryption is created, hackers have found a way in. So the U.S. government is not actually locked out entirely; they simply have not yet found a way in.

While I certainly have my opinions on the subject of encryption and its restriction, the issue is not profoundly important to me. Although, I suppose my thoughts on encryption do affect who I support financially. Naturally, like most people, I would prefer to purchase a smartphone or other device with the best encryption possible. However, it certainly is not so important that it affects who I support politically, especially this upcoming election. We have much greater problems facing our country than that of encryption. Other issues must take precedence such as the terrorist threats facing us and the rest of western civilization, our massive national debt, etc. While there continues to be no serious legislation up against encryption, I do not think the issue should affect by support. However, in light of the struggle between Apple and the FBI, this situation may soon change and the subject of encryption regulation might be necessary to consider when giving my support.

In the continuing struggle between national security and personal privacy, I think that even if federal regulations impede legal encryption, personal privacy will still win out in the end. When smartphones are no longer equipped with strong native encryption, customers will simply turn to third party applications which provide such encryption, whether it is legal or not. Furthermore, government officials will find it incredibly difficult to enforce these regulations; the ever evolving, virtual nature of technology seems to thwart constraints. It is also illegal to torrent copyrighted materials, but illegal downloading is as prolific as ever with services across the globe. So even if encryption is regulated by federal law, the use of strong encryption will not be subdued. I will not be resigned to a future where my personal privacy is threatened by the government, and if the opportunity calls for it, I will fight to keep my privacy.

Leave a comment